Reviews
ONLINE REVIEWS
The best personalised luxury Guest House in Cape Town. Staying in either of the two guest houses is equally wonderful and staff make it personal for a returning guest. The guest houses are upgraded yearly for the past 12 years of frequenting it. Top recommended accommodation.
Vivienne du Toit , South Africa, March 2020
My husband and I stayed in the Clarendon suite for our honeymoon and we were blown away by the accommodations and the staff. The hotel itself is incredibly peaceful, quiet, and the views are outstanding. We even had the opportunity to meet the owner twice during our three night stay! She was so kind and she clearly takes a lot of pride in her hotel and it's day to day. This was reflected in the staff as well who were just extraordinary. What a trip! We will be back!!
Justin C, South Africa, February 2020
From the minute I arrived at The Clarendon, I made to feel welcome. Everything from the accommodations and facilities to the service was out of this world. The room was large, clean and extremely comfortable with a view to die for. The decor throughout the hotel is beautiful. Shirley and all of the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. I find that so often staff at establishments can either come across as apathetic or overly helpful, but this was clearly not the case at The Clarendon.

Breakfast was delicious and I love the personal touches throughout such as the personal note waiting on arrival and the homebaked biscuits and cake. Nothing comes across as mass-produced. All in all, I would highly recommend The Clarendon.
Realproperty , February 2020
Perched on the side of the hill, it stands above everything between it and the ocean. Views are great, rooms are large, and upscale. The pictures are no exaggeration. It is a lovely place to stay. Breakfasts are excellent and more than anyone would need or want. Being tired one night, we opted for dinner at the hotel. To be fair, the hotel is not well equipped for dinners as it is a boutique hotel. The food was fine and did the job. The other nights, we got an uber (which is very easy) and took a 10 minute drive to the V&A waterfront which has lots of restaurants and Shirley (who is great) will recommend her favourites. We had great casual Italian at Balducci, salads at Balthezar after the Robben Island tour and excellent fish at Baia. But that has nothing to do with The Clarendon, just keeping my reviews simple. This is a great place to stay, intimate, first class in every way, great staff in an excellent location.
Kim Zietsman, February 2020
I spent one night at The Clarendon Bantry Bay recently, and was lucky enough to be upgraded to a superior suite. What a delightful surprise! Absolute luxury, with breathtaking views. Fine dining with attention to every little detail. Shirley and staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful...was very hard to leave, but I will be sure to stay their again soon.
Claire C, United Kingdom, February 2020
Beautiful boutique hotel with amazing views of ocean. Shirley and her team could not do enough for us and our suite was large and airy, huge terrace with sun loungers. Spotlessly clean and fabulous location between the waterfront and camps bay.
Susan and Deon Stevens, February 2020
We found a fabulous place where the whole hospitality team went out of their way to make our visit the most memorable. They reflect the kindness of the owner, Shirley, who is a delight to meet. The suites are magnificent, spacious, tastefully decorated. The stunning view of the tiny bay and the vast ocean is hard to beat. The service was better than first class - absolute 5 star experience.
HappyDayzTraveller, December 2019
We stayed here for four nights and in September and the experience was excellent. Sarnia and staff were excellent (as was the morning breakfasts!). This hotel is highly recommended.
The location is a little bit further from the waterfront that we anticipated but Uber service was quick and very inexpensive so it was not an issue at all. Overall a great experience and would stay here again.
Brian C, Canada, October 2019